Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association

 APTA Officer Election Set: Ford, Stackrow Nominated; Barnes, Green Continue as Officers

APTA members will vote on the 2017-2018 slate of officers October 7 during the APTA Annual Meeting in Atlanta.

This is the first Executive Committee to be elected since the APTA membership approved the new bylaws that provide for designated seats as well as at-large members.

Nathaniel P. Ford Sr., current APTA vice chair and chief executive officer, Jacksonville (FL) Transportation Authority, was nominated to be chair and David M. Stackrow Sr., chairman, Capital District Transportation Authority, Albany, NY, vice chair.

Chair Doran J. Barnes, executive director, Foothill Transit, West Covina, CA, will serve as immediate past chair through 2018 and Kim R. Green, executive director of business development at Genfare, will continue as secretary-treasurer through 2018.

The 2017 Nominating Committee—chaired by Valarie J. McCall, APTA immediate past chair and a member of the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority Board of Trustees—nominated the officers and members-at-large for both the APTA Executive Committee and the APTA Board of Directors at a meeting July 26.

Nominated as members-at-large to the APTA Executive Committee are:

Doug Allen, chief executive officer, Virginia Railway Express, Commuter Rail CEOs Subcommittee representative;
Brad Miller, chief executive officer, Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority, St. Petersburg, FL, Mid-Size Operations Committee representative;
Andrew Johnson, chief operating officer, Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District, Urbana, IL, Small Operations Committee representative;
David Genova, general manager and chief executive officer, Regional Transportation District, Denver, transit CEO representative from top 10 agencies;
Leanne Redden, executive director, Regional Transportation Authority, Chicago, legacy system representative;
Adelee Marie Le Grand, chief strategy officer and vice president transit planning, Regional Transit Authority, New Orleans, at large, three-year term;
Carolyn Flowers, senior vice president, AECOM, at large, one-year term;
Lester Bryant, board secretary, VIA Metropolitan Transit, San Antonio, at large transit board member, one-year term;
Andre Gibson, board vice chairman, Memphis Area Transit Authority, at-large transit board member, two-year term, finishing the term of David Stackrow when he becomes vice chair;
Baccara Sanderson Mauldin, vice chair, Birmingham Jefferson County Transit Authority, at-large transit board member, three-year term;
William Thomsen, president and CEO, Urban Engineers, at-large business member, three-year term; and
Jack Martinson, vice president/customer director, ALSTOM Transportation Inc., at-large business member, two-year term.

These current members will remain on the Executive Committee:

Nuria I. Fernandez, general manager, Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority, Rail Transit CEOs Subcommittee representative;
Freddie C. Fuller II, vice president, CH2M, top 10 business member representative;
Jeffrey A. Nelson, general manager, Rock Island County Metropolitan Mass Transit District, Moline, IL, Bus and Paratransit CEOs Committee representative;
Charles R. Wochele, managing partner/owner, TransitConsult LLC, at-large business member;
Dorval Carter, president, Chicago Transit Authority, at-large member;
Greg Percy, chief operating officer, Metrolinx (GO Transit), Canadian member;
Beverly Silas, vice chair, Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Austin, TX, at-large transit board member; and
Jeff Wharton, president, IMPulse NC LLC, BMBG representative.

NOTE: The 25th member of the Executive Committee is the Legislative Committee chair who is appointed by the APTA Chair in consultation with the Vice Chair. She is Diana Mendes, Mid-Atlantic Division president and national transit/rail market sector leader, HNTB Corporation.

Nominated to three-year terms on the APTA Board of Directors are:

Mary Jo Morandini, general manager, Beaver County Transit Authority, Rochester, PA, transit agency representative at large;
Dawn Distler, director of transit, Knoxville (TN) Area Transit, transit agency representative at large;
Sue Dreier, chief executive officer, Pierce County Public Transportation Benefit Area Authority Corporation, Lakewood, WA, transit agency representative at large;
Samuel Desue, chief operating officer/senior vice president, Kansas City Area (MO) Transportation Authority, transit agency representative at large;
Henry Li, general manager/CEO, Sacramento (CA) Regional Transit District, transit agency representative at large;
Jeanne Krieg, chief executive officer, Eastern Contra Costa Transit Authority, Antioch, CA, transit agency representative at large;
William Tsuei, director of information technology, Access Services, El Monte, CA, transit agency representative at large;
Angela Miller, director, global customer solutions, Cubic Transportation Systems, business member at large;
Michael Allegra, president, KivAllegra Consulting, Salt Lake City, business member at large; and
Stanley Feinsod, principal, Stan Feinsod-Passenger Rail Consultant, San Francisco, business member at large. 

Copyright © 2017 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Staff Intranet