Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association


 Executive Committee

The APTA Executive Committee is comprised of individuals who are elected by APTA members to act on behalf of the full APTA Board of Directors, when the full board is not in session.

2015-2016 Officers


Dr. Valerie J. McCall  Dr. Valarie J. McCall
  Member, Board of Trustees
  Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority
  Annual Meeting Speech and Video

  Valarie J. McCall was elected Chair of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) Board of Directors in October 2015.
  Throughout her career in government and community service, the issues of mobility and access have been consistent priorities.

As a member of the board of trustees of the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority (GCRTA) since 2006, McCall has been very active in APTA, holding increasingly influential positions. She has served as vice chair of APTA’s Executive Committee and chaired APTA’s Diversity Council. A long-time member of APTA’s Transit Board Members Committee, she served as its secretary and chair. McCall also is a member of the American Public Transportation Foundation’s board of directors and APTA’s Legislative Committee. She has served on APTA’s Strategic Plan Task Force and Authorization Task Force.

McCall is the first person to be named Chief of Government & International Affairs for the City of Cleveland, OH. In this role, she is Mayor Frank Jackson’s liaison to local and state governments, federal agencies and international organizations, as well as the Mayor’s primary representative to several national organizations, including the U.S. Conference of Mayors, National League of Cities, and National Black Caucus of Local and Elected Officials.

Her many duties include overseeing the Jackson Administration’s appointments to internal and external boards and commissions, and helping to implement the Mayor’s policies to promote regional growth and cooperation. In addition to her domestic responsibilities, McCall has represented the Mayor and the City of Cleveland at overseas conferences in China, France, Germany, Greece and Japan, and at the United Nations International Development Organization. She is a Fellow at the German Marshall Fund and the American Council of Young Political Leaders.

Prior to being appointed to her current position, McCall served as the Cleveland City Council’s youngest City Clerk and Clerk of Council in the city’s history. As the chief administrative officer for the City Council, she streamlined the processing of legislation, built an effective management team, and reorganized day-to-day operations to achieve greater efficiencies.

Before becoming the Clerk of Council, McCall was Cleveland’s Director of the Empowerment Zone in which she managed a $200 million budget, supervised the distribution of funds for job training and placement initiatives, and oversaw direct lending programs to businesses in four neighborhoods.

In addition to her governance roles with APTA and the GCRTA, McCall holds positions on several other boards, including The Cleveland Leadership Center, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Downtown Cleveland Improvement District, Greater Cleveland Sports Commission, Global Cleveland, and St. Vincent Charity Development Foundation, among others.

Other distinctions include:

  • Chair of the City of Cleveland’s RNC 2016 Special Events Committee and board member of Cleveland 2016 Inc., the host committee for the 2016 Republican National Convention;
  • First African-American female president of the Northeast Ohio Area Coordinating Agency;
  • Recipient of numerous leadership awards and recognitions by Rotary Club International, Crain’s Cleveland Business, Ebony magazine and Kaleidoscope magazine to name a few;
  • Host of “Government Affairs: A Closer Look,” a public affairs television show about Cleveland area community issues.

A native Clevelander, McCall earned both a BA in social work and a Master’s degree in public administration from Cleveland State University. The university awarded her an honorary Doctor of Public Servicehonoris causa (with all Rights, Privileges and Honors). She grew up using the city’s public transportation system, which she credits with providing her with access to life-changing opportunities.

Vice Chair

  Doran BarnesDoran J. Barnes  
  Executive Director
  Foothill Transit



  Kim R. Green
  Executive Director of Business Development

Immediate Past Chair

Phillip A. WashingtonPhillip A. Washington
CEO/General Manager
Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority


2015-2016 Members-at-Large

Michael A. Allegra

Michael A. Allegra
KivAllegra Consulting

Christopher Boylan   Christopher P. Boylan
   Director, Governmental & Strategic Partnerships
   General Contractors Association of NY, Inc.

  Nuria I. Fernandez.
  General Manager
  Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority


Nat FordNathaniel P. Ford, Sr.
Chief Executive Officer
Jacksonville Transportation Authority


  Freddie C. Fuller, II
  Vice President, Mid-Atlantic Transit & Rail Market Leader

Paul Jablonski  Paul C. Jablonski
  Chief Executive Officer
  San Diego Metropolitan Transit System

Jeanne Krieg  Jeanne Krieg
Chief Executive Officer
  Eastern Contra Costa Transit Authority

  Donna P. McNamee


  Jeffrey A. Nelson
  General Manager
  Rock Island County Metropolitan Mass Transit District




Keith Parker

   Keith T. Parker
   General Manager/Chief Executive Officer
   Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority





Michael A. SandersMichael A. Sanders
Transit Administrator, Transit & Ridesharing
Connecticut Department of Transportation





Skully  Patrick J. Scully
  Executive Vice President, Sales and Marketing
  Motor Coach Industries


  sedorykCarl G. Sedoryk
  General Manager/Chief Executive Officer
  Monterey-Salinas Transit


  Charles R. Wochele
  Managing Partner/Owner
  TransitConsult LLC

Executive Committee Liaison

  Greg Percy

  Metrolinx (GO Transit)

Copyright © 2016 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Staff Intranet