APTA thanks Long Beach Transit (LBT) for its outstanding and enthusiastic leadership and contributions as the host for this year’s Bus & Paratransit Conference & International Bus Roadeo. We greatly appreciate the support of LBT’s Board of Directors; President/CEO Larry Jackson; Conference/Roadeo Coordinating Team of Brynn Kernaghan, Dave Bielsker, Frank Spalding, Steve Bayne, and Gina Collins; along with the many employees who planned and staffed this event.

Welcome from Long Beach Mayor 

Dear APTA Attendee,

Welcome to Long Beach! It is my pleasure to welcome you to the American Public Transportation Association’s 2012 Bus & Paratransit Conference & International Bus Roadeo, hosted by Long Beach Transit.

Over the next several days, you will have some wonderful opportunities to exchange ideas, learn about best practices, and network with your transit industry peers from across North America. While you’re here, we hope that you will take advantage of the great service provided by Long Beach Transit, and make your way to a number of exciting locations throughout the city.

From an historic ocean liner and world-class aquarium, to a scenic coastline, unique shopping, entertainment, and dining options, California’s 7th largest city is truly a premier urban coastal destination in Southern California. The Queen Mary, one of the most famous Trans-Atlantic ocean liners, is now a first class hotel and offers historical tours throughout the ship. The Aquarium of the Pacific features more than 11,000 fish, birds and mammals from the world’s largest ocean.

Long Beach is also home to three distinctive museums: the Museum of Latin American Art, the Pacific Islands Ethnic Art Museum and the Long Beach Museum of Art. Outdoor activities abound with relaxing bicycle paths, golfing, fishing, boat and gondola trips, and a variety of other fun options.


Mayor Bob Foster
City of Long Beach

Welcome from Long Beach Transit

Welcome to Long Beach!

On behalf of the Long Beach Transit Board of Directors, our 800 employees, and service partners, I would like to extend a
warm welcome to the City of Long Beach.

We are excited to have you here for the 2012 APTA Bus & Paratransit Conference & International Bus Roadeo, and hope you will enjoy the many interesting sessions that have been planned for the conference. Be sure to stop by the Long Beach Transit Host Desk in the APTA registration area to pick up your gift bag, transit pass, area map, and other goodies. We hope you will take advantage of our convenient transit services while you’re visiting many of the great restaurants, shopping opportunities, and fun activities around town. Be sure to attend our host session, “Lights, Camera, Long Beach!” that promises to entertain and give you a peek into a unique feature of the city.

Coming together for this conference provides a great educational opportunity that will allow us to network with one another, share our best practices, and learn innovative new ideas that will help move our industry forward.

In 2013, Long Beach Transit will celebrate its 50th year as the public transit provider for the City of Long Beach and the surrounding area. Long Beach has a rich history of transportation, dating back to 1882 with the introduction of the American Colony Railroad service. We are proud to be a part of that history and look forward to continuing to serve our community in the coming years. We are so happy to have you here to experience a little of what we have to offer.

Have a great conference and roadeo!

Laurence W. Jackson
President and Chief Executive Officer

Long Beach Transit Board of Directors

  • Barbara Sullivan George, Chair
  • Freda Hinsche Otto, Vice Chair
  • Lori Ann Farrell, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Maricela de Rivera, Director
  • Donald M. First, Director
  • Victor Irwin, Director
  • Dr. James P. Norman Jr., Director
  • Michael Conway, City Representative
  • David Roseman, City Representative

Long Beach Transit Executive Staff

  • Laurence W. Jackson
    President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Robyn Peterson
    Chief Operating Officer/Senior Vice President
  • Marcelle Epley
    Chief Administrative Officer/Senior Vice President
  • Rolando Cruz
    Executive Director/VP of Maintenance and Facilities
  • LaVerne David
    Executive Director/VP of Risk Management, Human Resources, Training and Purchasing
  • Julia Gomez
    Executive Director/VP of Operations and System Security
  • Brynn Kernaghan
    Executive Director/VP of Planning and Service Development
  • Lisa Patton
    Executive Director/VP of Financial Services
  • Patrick Pham
    Executive Director/VP of Information Systems
Print Friendly, PDF & Email