Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association

 APTA Submits Testimony for House Ways and Means and Senate Finance Hearings


As mentioned in our previous legislative alert​, the House Ways and Means and Senate Finance Committees will be holding hearings this week on Highway Trust Fund finance needs.  APTA has submitted testimony on behalf of our membership as part of the public record for both chambers' hearings, which can be accessed at the following links:  [House Testimony] [Senate Testimony].  On Wednesday, June 17 at 10 am, the House Ways and Means Committee will hold their hearing. On Thursday, June 18 at 10 am, the Senate Finance Committee will hold their hearing titled "Dead End, No Turn Around, Danger Ahead: Challenges to the Future of Highway Funding."​


APTA members are urged to contact their Members of Congress on these committees to voice their support for a long-term, sustainable funding source that invests in public transportation. Please include major themes from the APTA testimony linked above, which are summarized below:
  • Congress needs to enact a six-year, $100 billion authorization for the federal transit program that includes robust funding necessary to grow the program.
  • Congress needs to act this year to restore, maintain and increase the purchasing power of the federal motor fuels user fee to support increased federal investment for the public transportation program.
  • While the federal motor fuel user fee remains a viable funding source, Congress should adopt a bipartisan mechanism that provides predictable funding for investment in public transportation.
  • Short-term authorizations increase project costs and decrease certainty for long-term planning.
  • ​APTA also seeks dedicated funding, separate from highway and transit funding, for investment in high-speed and intercity passenger rail.

If your Member of Congress is on one of the rosters below, please follow the link to the committee websites to obtain their contact information.

House Ways and Means Committee
Majority Minority

Paul Ryan, WI, Chairman

Sam Johnson, TX

Kevin Brady, TX

Devin Nunes, CA

Pat Tiberi, OH

Charles Boustany, LA

Peter Roskam, IL

Tom Price, GA

Vern Buchanan, FL

Adrian Smith, NE

Robert Dold, IL

Lynn Jenkins, KS

Erik Paulsen, MN

Kenny Marchant, TX

Diane Black, TN

Tom Reed, NY

Todd Young, IN

Mike Kelly, PA

Jim Renacci, OH

Pat Meehan, PA

Kristi Noem, SD

George Holding, NC 

Jason T. Smith, MO

Dave Reichert, WA

Sander M. Levin, MI, Ranking Member

Charles B. Rangel, NY

Jim McDermott, WA

John Lewis, GA

Richard Neal, MA

Xavier Becerra, CA

Lloyd Doggett, TX

Mike Thompson, CA

John B. Larson, CT

Earl Blumenauer, OR

Ron Kind, WI

Bill Pascrell, NJ

Joseph Crowley, NY

Danny K. Davis, IL

Linda Sánchez, CA

Senate Finance Committee​
Majority Minority

Orrin Hatch, UT, Chairman

Chuck Grassley, IA

Mike Crapo, ID

Pat Roberts, KS

Mike Enzi, WY

John Cornyn, TX

John Thune, SD

Richard Burr, NC

Johnny Isakson, GA

Rob Portman, OH

Pat Toomey, PA

Dan Coats, IN

Dean Heller, NV

Tim Scott, SC

Ron Wyden, OR, Ranking Member

Chuck Schumer, NY

Debbie Stabenow, MI

Maria Cantwell, WA

Bill Nelson, FL

Bob Menendez, NJ

Tom Carper, DE

Ben Cardin, MD

Sherrod Brown, OH

Michael Bennet, CO

Bob Casey, PA

Mark Warner, VA

Copyright © 2018 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Privacy Policy | Staff Intranet