Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association

 President Signs Short-Term Authorization Extension to December


On Friday, President Obama signed a short-term surface transportation authorization extension, giving lawmakers more time to negotiate the differences in their bills. This extension was agreed to by unanimous consent in the Senate on Thursday after being passed by House of Representatives on Tuesday by voice vote. This measure extends the current authorization deadline from November 20 to December 4, 2015. No additional revenue was required for this extension as the Highway Trust Fund is projected to have adequate funding through December. Conferees from both chambers were named last week and can be found below along with their jurisdiction over specific portions of the bill.

House of Representatives
Transportation and Infrastructure
Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
Rep. John J. Duncan, Jr. (R-TN)
Rep, Sam Graves (R-MO)
Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI)
Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR)
Rep. Lou Barletta (R-PA)
Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX)
Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH)
Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA)
Rep. Reid Ribble (R-WI)
Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA)
Rep. Rob Woodall (R-GA)
Rep. John Katko (R-NY)
Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX)
Rep. Cresent Hardy (R-NV)
Rep. Garret Graves (R-LA)
Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
Rep. Jerry Nadler (D-NY)
Rep. Corrine Brown (D-FL)
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD)
Rep. Rick Larsen (D-WA)
Rep. Michael Capuano (D-MA)
Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-IL)
Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN)
Rep. Albio Sires (D-NJ)

Armed Services
Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX)
Rep. Hal Rogers (R-KY)
Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)

Energy and Commerce
Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI)
Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)
Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ)

Financial Services
Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R-TX)
Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA)

Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)

Natural Resources
Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA) 
Rep. Darin LaHood (R-IL)
Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)

Oversight and Government Reform
Rep. John Mica (R-FL)
Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX)
Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-VA)

Science, Space and Technology
Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Rep. Barbara Comstock (R-VA)
Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD)

Ways and Means
Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX)
Rep. Dave Reichert (R-WA)
Rep. Sander Levin (D-MI)

Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK)
Sen. John Thune (R-SD)
Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)
Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY)
Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Sen. Deb Fischer (R-NE)
Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR)
Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL)
Sen. Charles Schumer (D-NY)

Conference Committee Holds Open Hearing

On Wednesday, the conference committee tasked with reconciling the House-passed Surface Transportation Reauthorization and Reform (STRR) Act of 2015 and the Senate-passed Developing a Reliable and Innovative Vision for the Economy (DRIVE) Act met for the first open hearing. This hearing was largely to have conferees to make opening statements and enter their statements into the record on specific issues. To view the hearing in its entirety, please visit the committee website here​.​
Copyright © 2018 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Privacy Policy | Staff Intranet