Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association

 Maintenance Monday

Monday May 5, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Join APTA at the 2014 APTA Bus & Paratransit conference for a day dedicated to bus maintenance and bus technologies. Take advantage of a full day of learning and interaction with your maintenance manager peers and other associated transit professionals. The day will kick off with interactive round table discussions in the morning. After the morning discussions, we will have lunch with your transit peers as you view the latest buses at the annual Bus Display. After lunch, we will reconvene for two more interactive discussions on Workforce Planning and Condition-Based Maintenance Programs. The day will wrap up a couple hands-on bus demonstrations.

Registration Form (doc)


7 – 8 a.m. Bus Technical Maintenance Committee Meeting
Chair: Jeffrey Gonneville (MBTA)
8 – 8:30 a.m. BREAKFASTSponsored by BAE SYSTEMS, Inc.
8:30 – 9 am Welcome and Introductions
Chairs: Jeffrey Gonneville (MBTA) and Joshua Goldman (TransPower)
9 – 10:15 am:

Round-Table Discussions

TABLE 1: Hybrid Technology/Electric Battery/Alternative Fuels
Moderators: Jan Homan (Metro Transit, MSP) and John Roberts (LACMTA)

TABLE 2: Asset Management/MAP-21/Regulations
Moderators: Rolando Cruz (Long Beach Transit) and Dave Klinikowski (Altoona Bus Testing Center)

TABLE 3: Maintenance Employee Best Practices
Moderators: Robert Rosencranse (Sportran) and Ray Melleady (USSC Group)

TABLE 4: Brake & Chassis
Moderators: Jerry Guaracino (SEPTA) and David Domine (Link Engineering)

TABLE 5: Training and Certification
Moderator: Brian Lester (EDSI) and Bob Cornwell (ASE)

TABLE 6: On-Board Diagnostics
Moderators: John Walsh (Clever Devices) and Phil Wallace (WMATA)

10:30 – 11 a.m. Round-Table Discussion De-Brief
11 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. LUNCH (at APTA Bus Display)
1:30 – 3 p.m.

Workforce Planning: Encouraging Front Line Career Development: Defining the Issues

Facilitator: Dr. Barbara Gannon, GannonConsult

Steve Wacksman, Superintendent of Maintenance, CDTA Albany, NY

KC Martin Operations/Employee Relations Manager, CENTRO Syracuse, NY

John Dembik, Superintendent, Bus Garages, (NFTA), Niagara, NY

Jay Corey, Director of Maintenance, RGRTA, Rochester, NY

Bill Steinmetz, Director of Service & Delivery, South Hills Village Rail Center, Port Authority of Allegheny County, Pittsburgh, PA

In this interactive session maintenance and operations managers/supervisors will identify the issues that discourage front line staff from joining the supervisory ranks. Participants will help to frame issues and identify ways to overcome the objections that some front-line staff may have to moving up in their careers. Discussion of current and best practices and suggestions from colleagues in the room will provide for lively conversation and practical solutions.

3 – 4 p.m.

Condition Based Maintenance: The Metro St. Louis Experience

Carl Thiessen (Code Red Consulting)
Darren Curry (St. Louis Metro)

This is a discussion about how the Metro St. Louis Vehicle Maintenance Team remade itself in 2002 creating a reliability centered maintenance program, the journey, lessons learned and benefits received. During this presentation we will discuss why the Team was forced to rethink maintenance processes and procedures, the costs of change and savings gained. We will also talk about moving from a traditional P.M. maintenance process to a reliability centered maintenance and how it impacted the operating and capital budgets in St. Louis. This philosophy dovetails into State Of Good Repair and MAP-21 requirements.


Tuesday May 6


7 – 8 a.m. Clean Propulsion Committee Meeting
Chair: Joshua Goldman (TransPower)
9 – 10:30 a.m.

(Bus Conference Session)
Alternative Fuels: Is it the Right Choice for Your Agency?


Moving to an alternative fuel is not an easy decision. Hear from three different agencies regarding their decisions to add a new fuel type to their fleet.

Moderator: John Somers (Clean Energy)


“Propane Autogas in the Paratransit Industry”
Randy Veenhoven (Roush Clean Tech), Lynn McLean (Flint Mass Transportation Authority), Frank Polivka (GCRTA) and Steve Schipper (The Rapid)

“Thorough Process for CNG Site Selection Meets All Objectives”
Scott Neal (Wendel) and Tony Kellen (St. Cloud Metro Bus)

“KCATA’s Move to CNG”
Richard Jarrold (Kansas City Area Transportation Authority) & Scott Vazzana (Clean Energy)



Copyright © 2018 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Privacy Policy | Staff Intranet