Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association

 Committee Meetings

The following committee meetings are open to all interested APTA members. Members are encouraged to participate and get involved.

Please note that this schedule is preliminary and subject to change.

Last updated May 20, 2014

Saturday, June 14
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Rail System Safety Seminar
If you have responsibilities for operations safety or safety management, then you will want to attend the annual System Safety Seminar. The interactive seminar will focus on the latest issues and resources impacting safety and emergency preparedness in transit operations and will provide an opportunity to share and learn about effective practices being developed and applied in our industry. The seminar is sponsored by APTA’s Rail Safety Management Program for the benefit of all management personnel.                  

FEE: There is no separate registration fee required.  

REGISTRATION: Pre-registration is requested. Please email APTA’s Sherry Brown at by
May 24. On-site registration will be on a space-available basis.

QUESTIONS? Contact APTA's Sherry Brown at 202.496.4879 or

2 - 4 p.m.

APTA Board of Directors
Chair, Peter Varga

4 - 5:30 p.m.

Business Member Small Business Committee
Chair, Evalynn Williams

4 - 6:30 p.m.

Commuter & Intercity Rail Legislative Committee
Co-chairs, Anna M. Barry & Joseph J. Giulietti

7 - 8:30 p.m.

TRB Committee on Commuter Rail (AP070)
Chair, Michael J. Loehr, P.E.

Sunday, June 15
7:30 - 9 a.m. Business Member Government Affairs Committee
Chair, Cliff Henke
8 - 9:30 a.m.

Communications Subcommittee (Power, Signals & Communications Committee)
Chair, Dave Gorshkov

8 - 9:30 a.m.

Track & Noise/Vibration Technical Forum
Chair, Richard Brown

8 - 9:30 a.m.

Light Rail Transit Technical Forum
Chair, Richard A. Krisak 

Breakfast sponsored by LTK Engineering Services

8 - 9:45 a.m.

Power, Signals & Communications Technical Forum
Chair, Edward J. Rowe

8 - 10 a.m.

High-Speed & Intercity Passenger Rail Committee
Chair, David B. Kutrosky

8 - 11:30 a.m.

Rail Safety Committee
Chair, David A. Genova

8:30 - 9:30 a.m.

Security Standards Policy & Planning Committee
Chair, Robert H. Prince Jr.

9 - 10:30 a.m.

Business Member Business Development Committee
Chair, Jeffrey Wharton

9 - 11:30 a.m.

Security Affairs Steering Committee/
Mass Transit Security Coordinating Council
Chair, Michael P. DePallo

9:45 - 11:15 a.m.

Power, Signals and Communications Technical Forum I & II
Chair, Edward J. Rowe

9:45 - 11:15 a.m.

Modern Streetcar Design Guideline Working Group
Chair, John Smatlak

9:45 - 11:15 a.m.

Ventilation Technical Forum
Chair, Justin M. Edenbaum

10:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Business Member Procurement Committee
Chair, Natalie E. Cornell

10:30 a.m.  - 1:30 p.m.

Commuter Rail CEOs Subcommittee (Commuter Rail Committee)
Chair, Matthew O. Tucker

10:45 a.m. - 12 p.m. LISTENING SESSION: APTA's Committee Structure
Come join in an open dialogue on APTA’s committees. APTA has an extensive committee structure allowing members to exchange information and collaborate on a wide range of policy, technical, and cross-cutting issues.
The APTA Board of Directors is currently soliciting member feedback on APTA’s committee structure to ensure it is as efficient, effective, and as inclusive as possible.
11 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Public-Private Partnerships Committee
Chair, Michael I. Schneider

11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

EXPO Advisory Committee
Chair, Jeffrey Wharton

11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Streetcar Subcommittee (Rail Transit Committee)
Chair, T.R. Hickey

Buffet lunch sponsored by Herzog Transit Services, Inc.

11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Research & Technology Committee
Chair, Jonathan H. McDonald, P.E.

11:45 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.

American Public Transportation Foundation (APTF) Board of Directors
Chair, Huelon A. Harrison

12 - 1:30 p.m.

Business Member Programs Committee
Chair, John P. Bartosiewicz

1 - 2:45 p.m.

Rail Standards Policy & Planning Committee
Chair, William R. Mooney Sr.

1:15 - 2:45 p.m.

Capital Projects Subcommittee
Chair, Cosema E. Crawford

1:15 - 2:45 p.m.

Transit Wireless Communications Joint Council
Chair, Karl Witbeck

1:15 - 2:45 p.m.

Systems Engineering Subcommittee (Research & Technology Committee)
Chair, David M. Springstead

2 - 3:30 p.m.

Committee on Public Safety
Chair, Paul MacMillan

2 - 3:30 p.m.

Rail Transit CEOs Subcommittee (Rail Transit Committee)
Chair, Paul C. Jablonski

2 - 4 p.m.

Business Member Board of Governors
Chair, Angela Iannuzziello, P.Eng., F.E.C.

2:30 - 3:45 p.m.

Land Use and Economic Development Subcommittee (Policy & Planning Committee)
Co-chairs, D.J. Baxter, Lucy Galbraith & Karina Ricks 

3 - 4 p.m.

Emerging Technology Subcommittee (Research & Technology Committee)
Chair, Angela K. Miller

3:30 - 4:30 p.m.

Rail Transit Committee
Chair, Paul C. Jablonski

4 - 5:30 p.m.

Major Capital Investment Planning Subcommittee (Policy & Planning Committee)
Co-chairs, Alan Tyler Lehto, Elizabeth Rao & Kimberly Slaughter

Monday, June 16
7 - 8 a.m.

Commuter Rail Committee
Chair, Matthew O. Tucker

7 - 8:15 a.m.

Operations Control Centers Technical Forum
Chair, Bart Kane

7 - 8:30 a.m.

Rolling Stock Equipment Technical Forum
Chair, Gavin Fraser, C.Eng. 

12 - 1:30 p.m.

Automated Transit Technical Forum
Chair, Steven L. Perliss, P.E.

Buffet lunch sponsored by Lea+Elliott, Inc.

Tuesday, June 17
Wednesday, June 18
12:30 - 2 p.m.

Rail Conference Planning Subcommittee (Conference Planning Committee)
Co-chairs, Stephane Lapierre & Dominique Lemay

Copyright © 2018 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Privacy Policy | Staff Intranet