Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
American Public Transportation Association

 Transit News



Virginia Miller
(202) 496-4816

 APTA Announces New Executive Committee and Board of Directors

 Gary C. Thomas Elected APTA Chair

2011 - 2012 APTA Chair Gary C. Thomas

The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) yesterday announced the election of its 2011-2012 Executive Committee and Board of Directors as voted by APTA members through the association’s first virtual annual business meeting and election of officers.

The Executive Committee will be led by Chair Gary C. Thomas, President/Executive Director of the Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) in Dallas, TX.  Thomas succeeds Michael J. Scanlon, General Manager/CEO of San Mateo County Transit district and Executive Director of Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board in San Carlos, CA.

Flora Castillo, a New Jersey Transit Corporation board member, was elected Vice Chair, and Nathaniel P. Ford Sr., Principal of the Ford Management Group, remains Secretary-Treasurer for another year.

The board, which is comprised of 106 members, will convene October 1 in New Orleans, prior to the beginning of the 2011 APTA Annual Meeting and EXPO.  The newly elected board members are as follows:


Gary C. Thomas
President/Executive Director
Dallas Area Rapid Transit
Dallas, TX

 Vice Chair

Flora Castillo
Board Member
New Jersey Transit Corporation
Newark, NJ

Secretary - Treasurer

Nathaniel P. Ford, Sr.
Ford Management Group
San Francisco, CA

Executive Committee
Members at Large

Ronald L. Epstein
Chief Financial Officer
New York State DOT
Albany, NY

Joseph J. Giulietti,
Executive Director
South Florida Regional Transportation Authority/Tri-Rail
Pompano Beach, FL

Crystal Fortune Lyons
Board Chairman
Corpus Christi Regional Transportation Authority
Corpus Christi, TX

Reginald A. Mason
Director of Safety and Training/Chief Safety Officer
San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency
San Francisco, CA

Gary McNeil
GO Transit/Metrolinx
Toronto, Canada

Transit Agency Members at-Large
of the APTA Board of Directors

Thomas J. Costello
Assistant Managing Director
Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District
Urbana, IL

Bradford J. Miller
Chief Executive Officer
Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority
St. Petersburg, FL

Hugh A. Mose
General Manager
Centre Area Transportation Authority
State College, PA 

Trevor Ocock
Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Indianapolis Public Transportation Corporation (IndyGo)
Indianapolis, IN

Allan Pollock
General Manager/Chief Executive Officer Salem-Keizer Transit
Salem, OR

Peter J. Varga
Chief Executive Officer
Interurban Transit Partnership (The Rapid)
Grand Rapids, MI

Business Members at-Large of the
APTA Board of Directors

Richard M. Amodei
Senior Vice President/Chief Strategic Growth
STV Incorporated
Philadelphia, PA

Christopher P. Boylan
Director, Governmental and Strategic Partnerships
General Contractors Association of New York
New York, NY

Peter Gertler
Senior Vice President/High Speed Rail Services Chair
HNTB Corporation
Oakland, CA

Arun Prem
Executive Director
Full Access and Coordinated Transportation Inc.
Oceanside, CA

#   #   #
The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) is a nonprofit international association of 1,500 public and private sector organization which represent a $68 billion industry that directly employs 420,000 people and supports millions of private sector jobs. APTA members are engaged in the areas of bus, paratransit, light rail, commuter rail, subways, waterborne services, and intercity and high-speed passenger rail. This includes: transit systems; planning, design, construction, and finance firms; product and service providers; academic institutions; transit associations and state departments of transportation. APTA is the only association in North America that represents all modes of public transportation. APTA members serve the public interest by providing safe, efficient and economical transit services and products.

Copyright © 2018 American Public Transportation Association
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone (202) 496-4800 | Fax (202) 496-4324
Logo Usage | Staff Intranet