

## **APTA Access Committee**

## **In-Person Meeting**

Sunday, October 8th, 2023 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM EDT Florida Ballroom A, Hyatt Regency Orlando

## **AGENDA**

- 1. Opening Remarks from Committee Chair Christian Kent
- 2. Self-Introductions
- 3. Remarks from APTA Leadership
- 4. Rethinking Paratransit: Can We Do Better?
  - Wednesday, October 11 panel session (see reverse side)
  - FTA September 14 Dear Colleague Letter on Real-Time ADA Paratransit Service
- 5. Ongoing Accessibility Improvements at APTA Meetings Christina Garneski
- 6. Digital Accessibility:
  - Redo of APTA website Christina Garneski
  - DOJ NPRM on Accessibility of Web Information and Services Ron Brooks
- 7. Report on APTA Diversity & Inclusion Program / Racial Equity Program Year 1
- 8. Report by the Accessible Transit & Paratransit Operations Subcommittee David Rishel
- 9. Officer Elections / Transition of Officers
  - Vice Chair Candidates
    - Mandee Steele, Vice President of Business Development, Transdev
    - Lisa Womack, Senior Manager of Mobility Innovation, Johnson County Transit Division - Public Works & Infrastructure Department, Olathe, KS
  - Office of Access Committee Secretary
  - Passing the gavel: Christian Kent to Brandon Policicchio (Access Committee Chair)
- 10. Open Mic / News and Information Sharing
- 11. Adjourn



Wednesday, October 11 10:30 – 11:30 am

Location: 311 E-H, West Bldg, Orange County Convention Center

**Rethinking Paratransit: Can We Do Better?** 

Given the attainment of fully-accessible bus fleets, the rise of mobility-on-demand and microtransit services, and the availability of new communication and automation technologies, many observers see this as a time to rethink the goals and practice of advance-reservation paratransit. Panelists will take a deep-dive into these and other questions.

<u>Moderator.</u> Christian T. Kent, Principal, Transit Management Consulting, LLC and Chair, APTA Access Committee

## Panelists:

- Ron Brooks, Founder and CEO, Accessible Avenue, LLC and Immediate Past Chair, APTA Access Committee
- Inez Evans, President & CEO, IndyGo
- Chris Pangilinan, Vice President for Paratransit, New York City Transit
- Marc Klein, SVP, Strategic Accounts and Smart Cities, Beep