## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 30, 2023

The Honorable Tom Cole Chairman Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development House Committee on Appropriations Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Mike Quigley Ranking Member Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development House Committee on Appropriations Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Cole and Ranking Member Quigley:

As you prepare the Transportation-Housing and Urban Development (T-HUD) appropriations bill for Fiscal Year (FY) 2024, we write to request full funding for the Federal Transit Administration's Capital Investment Grants (CIG) Program, commonly known as New Starts, Small Starts, and Core Capacity, at the fully-authorized level of \$3 billion. We also request that you continue to support the dozens of projects under construction or in the CIG pipeline, and urge the U.S. Secretary of Transportation to sign construction grant agreements when project sponsors have met all their requirements to execute the agreement.

While the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) provided \$1.6 billion annually in advance appropriations to the CIG program, building a needs-based, efficient, and resilient transportation system requires investing the full authorized discretionary funding. Local taxpayers rely on partnerships with the federal government to develop essential transit projects like those supported by CIG, and this funding is critical to developing a future-oriented transportation system that will meet the needs of our communities to reduce congestion, expand access to economic opportunity, and provide transportation options.

Since the enactment of the IIJA, numerous new projects have entered the CIG pipeline because of this expanded funding opportunity. Once these projects complete an extensive and rigorous multi-year, multi-step review, Congress receives a final opportunity to fund them with a Full Funding Grant Agreement.

The CIG program is critical to building communities and planning these transit investments. It generates regional economic growth, attracts businesses to the project corridor, connects workers to their employers, and relieves freight congestion chokepoints. Today, 22 states have a CIG project in the pipeline, demonstrating the nationwide demand for transit capital investments. Transit project benefits extend well beyond the project corridor, sending \$41.8 billion annually, 56 percent of transit expenditures, to the private sector via manufacturers, suppliers, and service firms located in nearly every congressional district in the United States.

We therefore urge you to fund the CIG program at \$3 billion in FY 2024, in addition to the \$1.6 billion in advance appropriations provided by the IIJA, as well as continue to support projects in

the CIG pipeline and urge the Secretary of Transportation to sign construction grant agreements when project sponsors have met their requirements.

Sincerely,

Earl Blumenauer

Member of Congress

James E. Clyburn Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Rick Zansen

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer

Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal

Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Wiley Nickel

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty
Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia
Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress Jimmy Gomez
Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin

Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore

Member of Congress

Dean Phillips

Member of Congress

0121

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross

Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred



Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Barbare Lee

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Greg Stanton

Greg Stanton
Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly
Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress Milliz

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell Jr

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Terri A. Sewell

Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress Serrold Nadler Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick

Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress Lucy McBath

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress BRAY HOS

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress Winds J. Jain

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress Danny d. Peris

Danny K. **Q**avis Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

Katie Porter

Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Member of Congress

James P. McGovern

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett
Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress Marc A. Veasey
Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Julia Brownley Member of Congress Brad Sherman Member of Congress Grace F. Napolitano
Member of Congress

10.Cll

Water Resources and Environment

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Donald Norcross
Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Trank Pallowih.

Sunney L. Lee

ana Dallotte

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Summer Lee

Member of Congress

Mike Thompson

Member of Congress

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkanp Perez Member of Congress Andrea Salinas

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress Jeff Jackson

Member of Congress

Morgan McGarvey
Member of Congress

David Scott

Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Darren Soto

Member of Congress

Dwight Evans

Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle

Member of Congress

Greg Casa

Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan
Member of Congress

Paul Tonko Member of Congress Nikki Budzinski
Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz
Member of Congress

ames A. Himes Member of Congress



Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

Probet Menuly

Ruben Gallego

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Member of Congress

N Tokula

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen

Member of Congress

Patrick K. Ryan

Member of Congress

Cerebush

Cori Bush

Member of Congress

Greg Landsman

Member of Congress

Jim Costa