

June 3, 2009

The Honorable Jerrold Nadler United States House of Representatives 2334 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative Nadler:

On behalf of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) and its nearly 1,500 member organizations, I write to thank you for the introduction of H.R. 2497, the Transportation Job Corps Act of 2009. We have long sought to address employment issues faced by the transit industry and are confident H.R. 2497 provides a blueprint to begin achieving these goals. APTA supports this legislation and commends you and your staff for making transit workforce development issues a priority.

Fueled by a rapidly aging workforce, the transit industry is poised to face a significant worker shortage in the coming years. Furthermore, industry growth coupled with advances in technology has created an urgent need for a comprehensive overhaul of transit employee training and development programs. The Transportation Job Corps Act of 2009 seeks to address these issues by creating national and regional councils tasked with identifying and putting forth solutions to issues related to transit agency skills gaps, management development and employee retention. H.R. 2497 also establishes four new grant programs, providing funding for basic skills, apprenticeship, education and retention and diversity programs.

The Transportation Job Corps Act of 2009 provides the development programs needed to ensure that our nation's public transportation workforce adapts to emerging technologies in a rapidly growing industry. Your innovative legislative proposal demonstrates an unprecedented level of commitment and ensures that our industry has the tools to properly train its workforce.

As always, thank you for your strong commitment to improving public transportation. If you have questions or need additional information, please contact Joni Zielinski of APTA's Government Affairs Department at (202) 496-4865 or email jzielinski@apta.com.

Sincerely yours,

William Millar President

Willia Miller

WM/tjj

1666 K Street, N.W., 11th Floor

Beverly A. Scott

First Vice Chair Mattie P. Carter

Secretary-Treasurer
Michael J. Scanlon

Immediate Past Chair Michael S. Townes

Vice Chairs
Richard J. Bacigalupo
Management and Finance
J. Barry Barker
Government Affairs
Doran Barnes
Human Resources
Linda J. Bohlinger
Research and Technology
Flora M. Castillo

Transit Board Members
Thomas J. Costello

Marketing and Communications
Joyce Eleanor

Bus and Paratransit Operations Sharon Greene Business Members

Delon Hampton Business Member-at-Large

Loren "Ben" Herr State Affairs Angela Jannuzziello

Canadian Members Hugh A. Mose

Small Operations
David Solow

Commuter and Intercity Rail

Gary C. Thomas Rail Transit

President
William W Millar