

AMERICAN PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION ASSOCIATION

2019 APTA Rail Safety Committee

Sunday, June 23, 2019 8:45 am – Noon

Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel 123 Queen St W Toronto, ON M5H 2M9 Rail Safety Committee – Walter Heinrich, Chair

AGENDA

8:45am	 Welcome, Safety Briefing, Introductions Around the Room Welcome: Walter Heinrich – Chair, Rail Safety Committee Safety Briefing/Intro: Brian Alberts – Director of Safety, APTA Brief Introductions Around the Room
9:00 – 9:25am	 <u>Welcome Remarks and FTA Safety Updates</u> K. Jane Williams, Acting Administrator, Federal Transit Administration
	• Henrika Buchanan, Associate Administrator and Chief Safety Officer, Office of Transit Safety and Oversight, Federal Transit Administration
9:25 – 9:30am	 <u>Rail Safety & Security Awards / Safety & Security Sessions at Rail Conf.</u> Rail Safety & Security Awards Program – Brian Alberts Sessions: Safety Cert. (6/24 4:30-6), Homelessness (6/24 4:30-5:30), Safety Culture (6/2510:30am-12), & Cybersecurity (6/25 8-9:15am)
9:30 – 9:40am	 <u>Updates from Rail, Commuter Rail and Safety Coordinating Committees</u> Walter Heinrich – Rail Safety Committee Chair Hilary Konczal – Commuter Rail Safety/Sec. Subcommittee Chair Lou Brown – Safety Coordinating Council Chair
9:40 – 9:55am	 FRA Safety/Regulatory Updates Devin Rouse, FRA
9:55 - 10:15am	 <u>Overview/Update on APTA Communities Pages (Rail & CR Committees)</u> Eugene Reed, Program Manager, APTA
10:15 – 10:30am	Break
10:30 – 11am	 <u>Overview/Discussion of Recommend Practice for Safety Certification</u> Kevin Jones, Chair, Safety Certification Working Group
11am – 11:45am	Roundtable Discussion
11:45am – Noon	Wrap up, Final Questions and Adjourn