## Congress of the United States Washington, D.C. 20510

April 30, 2024

The Honorable Steve Womack, Chairman
The Honorable Mike Quigley, Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies
Committee on Appropriations
U.S. House of Representatives

Dear Chairman Womack and Ranking Member Quigley:

We respectfully request that you provide the funding levels and incorporate the bill and report language outlined below in the forthcoming "Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act" for fiscal year 2025.

First, we respectfully request that the Subcommittee provide \$90 million for the Federal Transit Administration's Passenger Ferry Grant Program authorized under section 5307(h) of title 49, United States Code. Congress has historically underfunded this program, which provides nationally competitive grants to expand and improve public ferry service in States and eligible U.S. territories. For fiscal year 2024, Congress provided just \$20 million for the Passenger Ferry (Competitive) Grant Program with \$5 million reserved for low or zero emission ferry projects.

Second, we respectfully request that the Subcommittee include bill language to ensure that all rural areas designated by the U.S. Census Bureau may apply for the Ferry Service for Rural Communities Program authorized under section 71103 of the *Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act* (Public Law 117-58). Under the *Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023* (Public Law 117-328), Congress directed the Federal Transit Adminisation to award grants to passenger ferry service for two federally designated rural areas at least 15 sailing miles apart. We request the removal of the sailing miles stipulation for fiscal year 2025 so that all federally designated rural areas can apply for this competitive grant funding.

<u>Bill Language</u>: Provided, That for amounts made available in this paragraph, notwithstanding section 71103(a)(2)(B), eligible service shall include passenger ferry service that serves at least two rural areas with a single segment and is not otherwise eligible under section 5307(h) of title 49, United States Code.

Third, we respectfully request that the Subcommittee include report language clarifying that grantmaking for the aforementioned Ferry Service for Rural Communities Program and the Electric or Low-Emitting Ferry Pilot Program authorized under section 71102 of the *Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act* (Public Law 117-58) are indeed subject to the existing "Buy America" requirements under sections 5323(j) and 5333 of title 49, United States Code, for the Federal Transit Administration's other ferry grant programs. We appreciate that House Report 118-154 for the Subcommittee's Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2024 highlighted the importance of transparent application of domestic content requirements for ferry construction funded by the Federal Highway Administration or the Federal Transit Administration.

Report Language: Buy America.—The Committee reminds the Federal Transit Adminisation that section 70914 of Public Law 117-58 requires all Federal agencies to ensure that financial assistance for infrastructure projects use domestically produced iron, steel, manufactured products, and construction materials. The Committee expects the Federal Transit Administration to apply sections 5323(j) and 5333 of title 49, United States Code, to all grants awarded under the Ferry Service for Rural Communities Program and the Electric or Low-Emitting Ferry Pilot Program authorized under section 71103 and section 71102, respectively, of Public Law 117-58.

Again, we hope that the forthcoming "Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act" for fiscal year 2025 will not continue the historic pattern of underfunding programs for public ferry service, which is among the most cost-effective and resilient forms for transportation. As Members of Congress whose constituents are served by public ferry systems, we appreciate the Subcommittee's attention to our requests for the coming fiscal year. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

John Garamendi

Member of Congress

torament

Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier

Member of Congress

Aumua Amata Coleman

Radewagen

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

onathan L. Jackson Iember of Congress

Rick Larsen
Member of Congress

Rick Zanser

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Mary Sattler Pettola
Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr.
Member of Congress

Stacey E/Plaskett Member of Congress Golden

Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan

Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress