American Public Transportation Association Committee of Audit Professionals (CAP)

Hilton Americas, Houston, TX
Lanier Grand Ballroom D
Saturday, October 11, 2014, 9:00AM - 12:00PM
General Meeting and Election

AGENDA

- Greetings and Introductions—Ruthe Holden, CAP Chair & chief auditor, Management Audit Services, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Los Angeles, CA
- II. Welcome Message Arthur C. Smiley III, vice president & chief auditor, Metropolitan Transit Authority, Houston, TX
- III. Approval of Minutes

ATTACHMENT 1

IV. Call for Nominations Committee Report & Presentation of Slate (Holden)

Nominations Committee Report — Colette Thomas Gordon, CAP Nominations Committee & chief internal auditor, Pace Suburban Bus, Chicago, IL

ATTACHMENT 2

Election (Holden)

- V. Committee Meeting Ruthe Holden and New CAP Officers
 - a. Old Business Ruthe Holden
 - b. New Business New CAP Officers

Topics for discussion include:

- What do members want to get out of CAP?
- What should be the frequency of meetings?
- What are some discussion topics for future meetings?
- What type of training would members want CAP to offer in 2014 – 2015?
- What are some ideas for increasing membership and participation in CAP activities?

- VI. (1.5 CPE) Training Session 10:30 AM Noon "The Challenges of Implementing a New Payment System from the Perspective of a CFO and an Internal Auditor"
 - David Leininger, Financial Management Committee Chair & Executive Vice President & chief Financial Officer, Dallas Area Regional Transit (DART) Dallas, TX
 - Albert Bazis, director, internal audit, Dallas Area Regional Transit (DART)
 Dallas, TX
- VII. Closing Remarks—New Chair

COMMITTEE OF AUDIT PROFESSIONALS (CAP) ANNUAL MEETING Hilton Chicago SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 28, 2013 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM

CAP Meeting & Training Session attendees:

1. Andrell Hollow	yay aholloway@transitchicago.com	312.681.3762
	•	
2. Barbara Manni		213.452.0322
Bill. Grizard	wgrizard@apta.com	202.496.4879
Brenda Fink	bfink@portauthority.org	412.566.5127
5. Brenda Neubau	uer <u>bneubauer@transitchicago.com</u>	312.681.3782
6. Collete Thomas	s-Gordon <u>Colette.thomas.gordon@pacebus.com</u>	847.228.2304
7. Daniel Matta	danmatta@veoliatransper.com	602.334.5572
8. * Helen Lew	hlew@wmata.com	202.962.2515
9. Janet Sutter	jsutter@octa.net	714.560.5591
10. Marie Nickerso	on <u>Nickerson/Mnickerson@portauthority.org</u>	412.566.5130
11. Patrick Hagan	Patrick.hagan@mcgladrey.com	312.634.3981
12. Raquel Oliver	rolivier@olivier-inc.com	214.761.6900
13. Robert Bright	rbright@talsonsolutions.com	215.592.9634
14. * Ruthe Holder	n <u>rholden@metro.net</u>	213.922.1031
15. Scott Adair	sadair@crgrta.com	585.654.0230
16. Stacey Clink	sclink@tarta.com	419.243.7433
*=Presenter		
Federal Presenters	<u> </u>	
*Selene Dalton-Kur	mins <u>selene.dalton-kumins@dot.gov</u>	
* Marisol Simons	Marisol.Simon@dot.gov	
Staff Advisor		
Beverly Hill	bhill@apta.com	202.496.4315

MINUTES

- The CAP Meeting was held during the working lunch break of the Audit Training Session.
- Approval of the minutes was deferred until the next general meeting.
- CAP Chair Ruthe Holden shared the CAP's mission and recent activities with the audience and solicited ideas to increase membership. Several new members attending the training session engaged in the discussion.
- CAP Chair Ruthe Holden reminded everyone that her commitment to return as chair ends with the 2014 Annual Meeting.
- The Nominating Committee for new upcoming officers was announced as Andrell Holloway & Brenda Neubauer of Chicago Transit and Collette Thomas Gordon of PACE.
- The meeting adjourned to return to the Training Session.

THE NEXT CAP MEETING WILL TAKE PLACE AT THE 2014 ANNUAL MEETING & EXPO. WEBINARS WILL TAKE PLACE IN THE INTERIM.

A \mathbb{C}

1



TO: Ruthe Holden, Chair

Committee of Audit Professionals (CAP)

FROM: Collette Thomas-Gordon, Representative

2014-2017 CAP Nominating Committee

SUBJECT: CAP Election to Be Held On October 11, 2014

Houston TX – 2014 APTA Annual Meeting & EXPO

During the committee meeting held at the 2013 APTA Annual Meeting, Andrell Holloway, Brenda Neubauer and Collette Thomas-Gordon all volunteered to serve on the nominating committee for the 2014-2017 term of CAP officers. The committee held a telemeeting to discuss the election and potential candidates. Two of the issues the committee addressed were continuity and progression in leadership. Following that meeting, the committee put forth the following slate to the CAP roster of members on that date.

RECOMMENDED SLATE OF OFFICERS FOR 2014-2017 CAP OFFICERS

NAME	CANDIDACY POSITION	MEMBERSHIP AFFILIATION
Helen Lew	Committee Chair	Current CAP 2 nd Vice Chair and
		Inspector General for the
		Washington Metropolitan
		Transit Authority, Washington,
		DC
James Cali	Committee Co-Vice Chair	Current CAP 2 nd Vice Chair and
(candidacy withdrawn)		Director of Internal Audit for
		Bi-State Development Agency –
		St. Louis Metro, St. Louis, MO
Collette Thomas-Gordon	Committee Co-Vice Chair	Current CAP Member and Chief
		Internal Auditor/EEO Officer
		Pace Suburban Bus, Arlington
		Heights, IL

James Cali has subsequently withdrawn his name from candidacy due to a heavy workload; therefore, the committee recommends the election of the remaining two candidates as listed.

A