American Public Transportation Association Fare Collection Systems Committee Meeting Hilton Americas, Houston, TX Lanier Grand Ballroom B Saturday, October 11, 2014, 2:30 - 4:00PM

AGENDA

- 1. Greetings and Introductions Jim Capozzi
- 2. Approval of Minutes ATTACHMENT 1
- **3.** Report of Chair (Designated Committee Report)
- 4. Sub Committee Reports
 - a. Conference Program & Planning (Chua)
 - b. Technology (Parker/Brown)
 - c. Policy & By-Laws (Litchfield)
- 5. Announcement of FCS Workshop 2015
- 6. New Business
- 7. Adjournment

ATTACHMENT 2

C E 1

FARE COLLECTION SYSTEMS COMMITTEE (FCSC) 1st Committee-Wide Quarterly Meeting Notes Thursday, July 24, 2014/Noon-Eastern

Attendees:

Henry Rosen/1 st vice Chair	Marie Chua/2nd vice Chair	Staff Advisor Beverly Hill
Ryan Bailey	Mac Brown	Lynn Brumfield
Kevin Fehn	Al McLeod	Celine Mantoux
John McGee	Tomas Oliva	Brin Owen
Marie Parker	Craig Roberts	Brian Stein
Rebecca Thornton	Derek Toups	

<u>Notes</u>

The meeting was chaired by FCSC 1st Vice Chair Henry Rosen who also welcomed everyone to the 1st committee-wide meeting on behalf of Chair Jim Capozzi, who was unavailable. Discussion included the following:

2015 Workshop Updates – Henry Rosen

Discussion of 2015 Conference planning to date

- A. A meeting was held with TransITech committees' chairs (actually 2 committees) The chairs of the committees, along with APTA staff advisors, met by phone on June 26 to discuss next year's Fare Collection /TransITech Workshop. The meeting served to introduce the new leadership of each committee – to each other. It was a productive discussion, which sets the planning in motion for 2015.
- B. The official name of the summit/workshop has not been decided, but the two groups will again come together in 2015 and provide attendees with a broader choice of sessions to choose from.
- C. Venue selection On July 10, Jim Capozzi, Henry Rosen and Marie Chua met by phone with APTA staff regarding the venue for next year's workshop. APTA conducted a search for appropriate conferencing space that can accommodate attendee's hotel rooms and meeting space needs. The search has been narrowed to Orlando, FL and Atlanta, GA
- D. The requested timeframe for the workshop was the 2nd week of April; however, the final dates will largely depend on the selected hotels' ability to house the workshop.

Subcommittee Reports

Technology – Nat Parker

Mac Brown stood in for Nat Parker who was unavailable. Mac provided an overview of the new [non-APTA] committee website that is being tested. The website is envisioned to facilitate an open exchange of information among the committee.

Policy/By-Laws - Alex Litchfield

Alex Litchfield was on vacation, but his pre-submitted report provided an update for his subcommittee. They are reviewing the current by-laws for minimal revisions such as subcommittee names. We do not expect any proposed changes to be of great consequence.

Nominations - Kevin Fehn (reconvenes in 2016)

Terms of office for this committee are two-years with elections held in the even years. Our election this year was held in March at the Revenue Management Summit so this committee will not reconvene again until they prepare for the 2016 election.

- Programs/Planning Marie Chua
 - 1. **Planning Subcommittee** Marie again thanked the members who volunteered during the summit to serve on the 2015 Workshop Planning Subcommittee. This is a very involved and time consuming process. See attached list of members and schedule.
 - 2. Call for presentations process

Many of us belong to multiple APTA committees and have seen and/or used the new electronic Call for Papers process. One of our time-saving ideas is to request bios along with the submission of proposed sessions.

New Business - Chair

 Before accepting a motion to adjourn, Henry reminded everyone that the next meeting will be face to face at the APTA Annual Conference & EXPO in Houston. The committee meeting will take place SATURDAY, OCTOBER 11, 2014, 2:30 – 4:00 PM

C E 2

Designated Committee Reports Tele-Meeting May 29, 2014

Background

APTA has over 120 committees associated with the transit/transportation industry. The Governance Committee was tasked with reviewing the mission and structure of the various committees and finding a way to provide them with manageable access to the executive body. Effort was made to group the committees with logical connections mirroring the internal organizational structures of many agencies. One committee was given the responsibility [or designated] to report on the activity of the entire group.

The Financial Management Committee was deemed the Designated Committee to report on the accomplishments and activities of the following committees and current chairs as per the APTA Governance Committee.

- 1. Financial Management, Chaired by David Leininger
- 2. Fare Collection Systems, Chaired by James Capozzi
- 3. Audit Professionals, Chaired by Ruth Holden (represented by Co-Vice Chair Helen Lew)
- 4. Risk Management, Chaired by Susan Lockwood

Financial Management Committee Chair David Leininger convened the meeting to introduce each chair to the group. The chairs provided comprehensive synopses of his or her committee's mission, work plan and planned activities. The meeting ultimately led to a sharing of ideas and successful strategies for engaging and recruiting committee members.

Committee highlights

Committee of Audit Professionals

- There are about 65 active members of this committee.
- **Chair Ruthe Holden's** term runs through the 2014 APTA Annual Meeting.
- The committee does not have a standing conference, but uses webinars and training sessions to engage members and support the achievement of CPE/educational requirements.
- Training activities are also part of the recruitment strategy to increase membership and interest.

Fare Collection Systems Committee

- There are 163 members of this [growing] committee.
- Chair Jim Capozzi's was just elected in March to a two-year term.
- The committee meets at the APTA Annual Meeting and co-hosts a conference in conjunction with the TransITech Committee each spring.

• Upon election, chair instituted monthly leadership meetings and quarterly committee-wide meetings to keep members engaged and informed of committee activities. The next meeting is on June 5th.

Financial Management Committee/Designated

- There are 104 members of this committee.
- Designated Chair David Leininger was elected during this year's Legislative Conference.
- The committee meets twice annually at the Legislative and Annual Meetings.
- Upon election, chair instituted a periodic newsletter to share information on hot topics and issues with financial impact. The newsletter will be shared with all committees within the designated group.
- Committee also hosts a program called T-Flex to train new and upwardly mobile finance professionals. More information may be found at http://www.tflex.org/about.asp.

Risk Management Committee

- There are about 65-70 active members of this committee.
- **Chair Susan Lockwood's** term runs through the June 2015 Risk Management Conference.
- The committee meets at their annual workshop, but uses a group email structure to augment committee interaction.
- The independent group email system (example attached) facilitates timely discussion of hot topics and provides readily available assistance with internal issues a member may be experiencing.

ATTACHMENT