2017 Workforce Webinar2019-08-21T09:18:57-04:00

Advanced Technologies and the Impact on Transportation Industry: A Workforce Conversation

As technologies advance and are steadily incorporated into the operations of transportation industries, workforce needs evolve at increasingly progressive rate across all levels. Technological impacts are widespread and create internal and external demands on both public and private sector agencies, businesses, and institutions. This webinar’s objective is to identify the impact advanced technologies have on the transportation industry. Presenters will examine the overall industry story – how services, customer relations, and employee needs are influenced. They will speak to current trends, best practices, and skill gaps that must be filled with up-to-date trainings and planning of potentially new certifications. Furthermore, presenters will look at the need for continued educational partnerships and their role in creating a steady pipeline of qualified employees into the workforce. Finally, speakers will conclude with how we merge what we know, with what we need, into proactive steps.

Webinar Date:

Monday, December 18, 2017

Broadcast Time:

2:00-3:15 p.m. Eastern

1:00-2:15 p.m. Central

Noon-1:15 p.m. Mountain

11:00 a.m.-12:15 p.m. Pacific

Moderator, Facilitator, Presenter:

Mr. Ferdinand Risco, Assistant Executive Director, TARC; Vice Chair, Workforce Development Committee

Mr. Mike Loehr, Global Practice Leader, Transit and Rail, Track and Civil, CH2M; Chair, BMBG Workforce Development Committee

Ms. Joanne Peterson, Chief Human Capital and Development Officer, LA Metro

Ms. Leticia Barajas, Vice President of Pathway Innovation & Institutional Effectiveness, Los Angeles Trade-Technical College (LATTC)

Dr. Thomas O’Brien, Executive Director of the Center for International Trade and Transportation; Associate Director of Metrans; Director, Southwest Transportation Workforce Center

Presentation Slides.

Webinar Recording

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
APTA Logo

1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005
Telephone: (202) 496-4800
Fax: (202) 496-4324

Logo Usage Privacy Policy