Senators Patty Murray (D-WA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), and Dick Durbin (D-IL) are currently circulating a letter in support of the CIG program which APTA strongly supports. The Senators urge Senate Appropriations Committee leaders, as they work on a final Fiscal Year (FY) 2018 omnibus appropriations bill, to support “robust funding and clear direction for the Federal Transit Administration’s CIG program.” The letter urges them to include “the strongest bill language possible to clearly direct the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) to follow existing law by advancing the nearly 70 projects in the current CIG pipeline.” It urges DOT to move eligible projects into project development and engineering phases; rating, evaluating, and recommending projects for funding; and signing Full Funding Grant Agreements and Small Starts Grant Agreements. To view the letter in its entirety, please click here.

The deadline for co-signing is by close of business Friday, December 15, so your urgency is needed on this important matter. APTA encourages all members to contact their Senators and ask them to sign on to this letter. To identify your Senators, please visit the Senate website here​.​

​(Download Document in PDF Format)​​

Print Friendly, PDF & Email